Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Queensland postal changes, January 1880

A newspaper article documenting the extensive changes to the Queensland postal system in January 1880.

Queenslander (Brisbane), Saturday 31 January 1880, page 151
Postal Changes
The "Queensland Postal Guide" for January contains the following memoranda of changes effected in the postal arrangements of the colony:—
Licensed Vendors of Stamps.—E. Dooley, Albert and Elizabeth streets, and Ellen Starkey, Caxton-street, Brisbane; A. Fiebig, Paddington; J. Clowes, One-mile, Gympie; and C. F. Tomlin, Emerald. An iron letter receiver has been substituted for the receiving office at Paddington.
The following offices have been abolished, namely:—Post offices, Dungeness and Fisher's Creek, and the receiving office, Nine-mile Camp, Stanthorpe Railway extension.
Offices have been established as follows, namely:—Post offices: Boulia (Burke River), Blythedale (Western Railway), North Branoh (near Back Plains, Clifton), Pikedale-road schoolhouse, near Warwick, and Listowel Downs, near Tambo. Receiving offices: Emu Creek, near Warwick; Glenormiston, Herbert River; Lucky Valley, near Warwick; North Maryland school house, near Warwick; Bedrock, near Copperfield; Taldora, near Cloncurry; Thirteenmile Camp (Stanthorpe Railway extension), and Upper Freestone Creek, near Warwick. The receiving office, Cherrytree Gully, has been made a post office. The receiving office, Beechal, has been removed to, and us now called, Fairlie. The post office on the Townsville and Charters Towers Railway line, formerly called "Gap," and the receiving office near Warwick, called Freestone Creek, are now called respectively Kikiambra and Lower Freestone Creek.
Services Abolished.—Nerang Creek and Bundall, Mount Esk and Deep Creek via Mount Brisbane, Swan Creek and Upper Swan Creek, Bundaberg and South Kolan, Copperfield and Aramac, Charleston and Georgetown, Thornborough and Northcote. Services Established.—Brisbane and Gympie via Noosa, by steamer to Noosa once, thence to Gympie by coach twice, a week; Fernvale Deep Creek and Mount Brisbane, once a week; Back Plains, Clifton, and North Branch, twice a week; Cherrytree Gully, North Maryland schoolhouse and Pikedale-road schoolhouse, twice a week; Dalby and Rosalie, via Irvingdale, once a week : Emerald and Aramac, via Sunny Hills, by coach, twice a week; Emerald and Blackall, via Companion Creek, by coach, twice a week; Companion Creek and Tambo, by coach, once a week; Aramac and Lismore, via Coomoola, Upper Maneroo, Maneroo, Evesham, Corona, Silsoe, and Vergemont, once a fortnight, by horse; Cloncurry and Normanton, via Fort Constantino, Conobie, Taldora, and Iffley, once a-month; Clermont and Sunny Hills, by coach, once a-week (to commence February).
Services Extended.—Caboolture and Manumbar to Caboolture, and Baramba, via Durundur, Geddes, Humberstone, Kilcoy, Moneildale, Jimna, Foxlowe, Yabber, Davonport's, and Manumbar, returning via Green's, Porter's, Monsildale, Louisa Vale, Kilcoy, Humberstone, Geddes, and Durundur; Emu Creek station and Crow's Neat to Nukinenda, returning via Eskdale Sta tion; Warwick and Freestone Creek to Warwick and Emu Creek, via Lower Swan Creek, Lower Freestone Creek, Upper Freestone Creek, and Upper Swan Creek, returning direct via Lower Swan Creek; Warwick and Killarney, via Farm Creek, to Warwick and Farm Creek, via Lucky Valley, Canning Downs and Killarney, returning from Farm Creek direct to Warwick; Warwick and Nine-mile Camp to Thirteen-mile Camp (Stanthorpe railway); Gympie and Neureum to Bonara; Rockhampton and Toorilla to Stannage; Hughenden and Bowen Downs to Aramac
Services Altered.—Brisbane and Gympie, mail by home instead of by coach; Bundaberg and Mount Perry to include Kolan; Rockhampton and St. Lawrence, from horse to coach mail; Mistake Creek and Avon Downs to Redrock and Avon Downs; Aramac and Muttaburra to leave out Bowen Downs; Mackay and Nebo to include Hazlewood station, Mount Spencer station, and Smith's; Townsville and Georgetown to include Carpentaria Downs and Charleston; Richmond Downs and Cloncurry to include Nelia Pond and Leilaville; Port Douglas and Thornborough to include Northcote and Beaconsfield; Cooktown and Byerstown by coach, and Byerstown, Gregory, Maytown, Palmer, and Lukinville, by horse, once a-week, to Cooktown and Maytown direct by coach once a-week, and once a-week by horse, Maytown to Gregory, Palmer, Blacksoil, Stony Creek, Byerstown, Gregory, and Maytown.
Services Decreased. —Richmond Downs and Normanton to Richmond Downs and Taldora; Gatton and Nanango, via Mount Esk to Mount Esk and Nanango; Gladstone and Cania to Gladstone and Milton Diggings (Norton); Tambo and Thorgomindah to Listowel Downs and Thorgomindah; Cardwell and Georgetown, via Junction Creek, to Cardwell and Junction Creek.
Communication Increased.—Richmond Downs and Cloncurry from once a-fortnight to once a-week; Gowrie Junction and Gomoran to twice a-week; Mackay. and Nebo to twice a-week; Hughenden and Bowen Downs, from once a fortnight to once a-week.
Communication Decreased. —Ipswich, Fernvale, and Mount Esk, from three times a week to Fernvale, and twice a week to Mount Esk, to twice a week to the former place, and once a week to the latter; Thornborough and Georgetown, from once a week to once a fortnight
Postage stamps and duty stamps will in future serve equally for the prepayment of postage. Insufficiently prepaid or wholly unpaid letters posted for transmission to the United Kingdom will henceforth be forwarded, but charged with the deficiency, and a fine of sixpence (6d.).
The money order system has been extended to Switzerland and Hong kong (including Macao and the British post offices in China).
Urgent telegrams for stations within the colony will in future be forwarded, if desired, taking precedence of ordinary messages, on payment of double the fee for an ordinary message.